What was the most interesting thing you learned from a class colleague this semester? 

The weekly discussion board conversations were tremendously beneficial to my learning experience this semester, and I truly enjoyed the perspectives and ideas that everyone shared about the readings and reflection questions. My favorite “aha!” moment came during Molly’s Week 3 post about play-based programming. Tying the importance of participation to the movement and imagination encouraged in her “Books and Boxes” and “Jumping” programs clearly demonstrated how active learning can be fostered for any age group.

Was the content of this course what you were expecting it to be? What would you like to have spent more time learning?

I had originally expected that this course would be focused more on specific examples or case studies of makerspaces, and be less theoretical than it turned out to be, but I’m far from disappointed about this difference. It turns out that by being broad in scope, what I’ve learned can be applied in all kinds of settings, as well as over time as what constitutes a makerspace evolves.

As with other courses I’ve taken during the summer semester, I do wish there had been more time to explore the course material more deeply. We really covered a lot of ground during the past ten weeks, and it seemed like I was often scrambling madly to keep up as the time flew by.

What was your favorite project or reading you worked on this semester?

My absolute favorite reading this semester was A New Culture of Learning by Thomas & Brown. It made so much sense to me, and I wanted to share a copy of the book with every teacher I know. Before this semester, I hadn’t had much experience with the theories of learning and teaching, and I felt that this work, along with Invent to Learn by Martinez & Stager, provided a solid overview of historic educational theory, as well as the need to adapt traditional instruction methods to keep pace with our rapidly changing world.

